A Big Welcome to LISSA Social Media Committee Bloggers Jewel Davis and Heather Hans!

LISSA welcomes our newest bloggers! As part of the LISSA Social Media Committee, they will be sharing their experiences as graduate students in the LIS program writing on topics such as what to expect from LIS courses and lessons learned in volunteer/internship positions. Look for their posts coming soon!

Hi! I’m Jewel. I attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and received a Bachelor’s degree in English with a minor in Women’s Studies. I then continued on at Chapel Hill to receive a Master’s in Teaching. This is my second semester in the LIS program. At the moment, I am interested in working in an academic library as an Information Literacy librarian. I am a former teacher, and education is still a huge interest of mine. In my free time, I blog, craft, and play with my dog!

Hello, I’m Heather. This is my second semester in the MLIS program.  I work as a graduate assistant for the LIS program and as a reference intern at Jackson Library. My undergraduate degree is in Studio Art (mainly painting and sculpture) with a minor in Art History from Wake Forest University.  After undergrad I worked in journalism at several magazines, a newspaper, and a travel media company before deciding to pursue librarianship in the hopes of being an academic or public librarian focused on reference, user services, and instruction.  I still paint and love to bake, as well as travel and spend time with my boyfriend and our two kitties.

If you are interested in becoming part of the LISSA Social Media Committee please contact Karen Feeney at kefeeney@uncg.edu.

Leave a Reply

