The 2011-2012 LISSA Officers – Introducing Ourselves!

Lauren Wallis -President

Hello everyone, and welcome to the new school year!  We’ve been plotting fun things to do for LISSA all summer and we’re really excited to get things going and meet the new members of the department!
I’ve come to librarianship from a roundabout route (as many of us do).  I’m from Fairfax, Virginia, and I got my BA in English and women’s studies from William and Mary. After that I knew I wanted to be somehow involved in higher education, maybe as a professor.  I worked for a year in Americorps with elementary students, and then I came to UNCG to start the graduate program in English.  About halfway through I started looking around for alternative career paths, and when a graduate of the program began recommending the MLIS, I wondered why I’d never thought about being a librarian before!  I finished my English master’s in 2010 and started the library program last fall—and as I continue to assure my parents, I don’t plan on acquiring any more degrees after this!  Over the past year I’ve developed an interest in reference and instruction in academic libraries.  When I’m not library-ing, I like to cook delicious vegetarian concoctions, make crafty things, read (of course), and go hiking and camping.

Amy Archambault – Vice-President

Hello everyone! I’m excited to be serving this year as your vice president for LISSA.  This is my first year as an officer but I have been a student in the department for the last two years. I’m happy to have an opportunity to work with some very talented people and get to know more of you as we work together to make our student chapter of ALA even stronger!  It’s going to be a great year.
I didn’t come into the program knowing exactly what I wanted to do, except be a librarian (or maybe an information architect).  600/Foundations was a defining moment – it challenged everything I thought I knew about being a librarian.  That course has stayed with me through every step of this process.  I’m finding my calling as a school librarian and I am excited about the challenges and possibilities this career will hold for me.
I live in Winston-Salem, but grew up in Pennsylvania.  Before my journey to library school began, I worked as an instructional designer at Syracuse University for five years.  My husband, Mark, is the director of Elon’s newly formed physician assistant’s program.  We have two children: Kate is almost 6 and just starting Kindergarten at Meadowlark Elem and Luke is 3 and in a nearby preschool.  We enjoy lots of things especially being outdoors as much as possible and, of course, reading!  I look forward to meeting all of you, hearing your stories about how you found your way to UNCG LIS and creating some great memories along the way.  Cheers!

Karen Feeney – Secretary

Hello to the MLIS grad students I know and a big WELCOME to the new faces I have yet to meet! My hope for LISSA this year is to have lots of student interaction! Outings, opportunities to share ideas & experiences, fun social events, and lots of networking! We are a student group after all!
This is my second year of the program and my focus is currently on academic libraries and archives. I love studying history and culture and hope to work in a library where I can preserve access to the past while teaching about it. I have a B.A in Anthropology and Secondary Education from UNCG.  For the past year I have been working as the Media & Digital Services Assistant at High Point University. I can’t believe it’s been a year, it went by so fast! More and more I wonder why I didn’t think of working in libraries sooner. I worked in retail for years and loved meeting and helping people. Other incarnations of my work life included veterinary assistant, receptionist and substitute teacher.  When I thought about what field I wanted to work in when considering graduate school my thoughts always came back to working with people and education. I decided on library school because it’s really a great melding of the two. I’m glad I made the decision because I love going to work! I meet amazing people all the time and finally feel that I am where I’m supposed to be.

Melissa Rich – Treasurer

I am a second year student in the MLIS program and plan to graduate in May 2012.  My areas of interest are public libraries and special collections.  I graduated from James Madison University with a BS in Anthropology and a concentration in Archaeology.

Leave a Reply

